The Lifestyle – Lenten Journey

luther rose

Woke up, fell out of bed, dragged a comb across my head. Found my way downstairs and drank a cup, and looking up I noticed I was late.
Found my coat and grabbed my hat, made the bus in seconds flat. Found my way upstairs and had a smoke, somebody spoke and I went into a dream. – Lennon/McCartney’s A Day in the Life

I rose, brushed my teeth, shaved the stubble from my face before a hot shower. Afterwards I towel dried and curling on the fluffy mat beside the tub fell into a deep sleep.

Sing to me Life of the Spring days to come, the soft sea sprayed winds. Comfort me. My soul knows no rest, the body numb, my heart no peace. No balm for the injuries you’ve inflicted. Such harsh discipline should end in some reward one would expect.

Lift me from this pit. Free me from the tangles. Peel their tendrils make me clean. Let me rest nuzzled at your neck. Shield me from their assaults, temptations, their pull. Your fresh sweet fragrance fills my lungs as the muck begins to choke. Such is the torture. The insane sacrifice. Such is my fate.

I didn’t take the stairs today, instead I rode an empty elevator up. Think it makes a difference? One more day in the life. ~ me

